fbpx
Which mortgage model suits me?

Mortgage profile

Determine your individual mortgage type now, free of charge.

The perfect mortgage

In Switzerland, three main mortgage models are used for financing. These are the fixed-rate mortgage, the Saron mortgage and the variable-rate mortgage. What are the characteristics of the different mortgages? Find out here.

Fixed-rate mortgage
Fixed term
Fixed interest rate
Calculable risk
Planning reliability
LIBOR/SARON mortgage
Usually a term of 2-5 years
Periodic interest rate adjustments
Lower interest rates than fixed-rate mortgages
No planning certainty
Variable mortgage
No fixed term
Variable interest rate around 2.5% p.a.
Currently the most expensive mortgage type

Fixed-rate mortgage

The fixed-rate mortgage is the most widely used financing option for real estate in Switzerland. This type of mortgage has two specific characteristics:

  • The term of the mortgage is determined and can range from 2 to 25 years
  • The interest rate is fixed for the whole term of the mortgage

With the fixed-rate mortgage, thanks to the fixed term and fixed interest rate, it is possible to clearly calculate how high the annual interest burden will be. This means that the fixed-rate mortgage offers planning security and is therefore ideal for mortgage borrowers who do not want to be exposed to changes in the financial budget due to short-term interest rate changes. The interest rate structure of fixed-rate mortgages is very simple to explain: the longer the term, the higher the interest rate. Due to this fact, it is essential to compare different financing offers for the fixed-rate mortgage model. Even seemingly small differences in the interest rate can mean a large savings potential on the total mortgage amount and over the term of the fixed-rate mortgage.

Saron mortgage

The Saron (former Libor) mortgage is a mortgage model that is particularly attractive in times of a stable or falling interest rate environment. The interest rate of the Libor mortgage is calculated from the Libor interest rate and a margin. The margin is calculated differently depending on the financial institution and is based on the individual creditworthiness of the customer. In principle, the Libor mortgage is a fixed-rate mortgage with a short term of a few months, for which the interest rate is adjusted at defined intervals. If you as a customer opt for the Libor mortgage, you have the choice of the intervals at which this interest rate adjustment is to be made. Typically, a Libor base of 3, 6 or 12 months is available. A Libor mortgage contract is usually signed for a fixed term of between 2 and 6 years. Within this term, most banks offer a switch to a fixed-rate mortgage.

In recent years, the Saron mortgage has been the most favorable form of financing on average. In addition to this resounding argument, there are nevertheless several things to consider as a mortgage borrower:

  • The Saron mortgage is subject to short-term interest rate fluctuations.
  • There is no planning security
  • Normally, the Libor mortgage offers lower interest rates than a fixed-rate mortgage

 

LIBOR becomes SARON

Libor (London Interbank Offered Rate) is the rate at which banks lend money to each other. There are no actual transactions behind Libor, only agreements that the banks make among themselves. This lack of transparency has made Libor vulnerable to manipulation in the past. The Saron (Swiss Average Rate Overnight) is based on executed transactions and is therefore much more resilient and transparent. From January 1, 2022, the interest rate for money market mortgages in Switzerland will no longer be determined by Libor, but by Saron. As a result, the Libor mortgage will be renamed the Saron mortgage from the end of 2021 at the latest.

The Saron has already been in use by the SNB since 2009, but was not used as the prime rate for money market mortgages. Nevertheless, it has always remained at about the same level as Libor in recent years. Most experts expect this to remain the case, at least in the medium term. For Libor customers, therefore, the changeover will hardly bring about any noticeable changes.

HYPOHAUS will work with you to determine your personal mortgage profile. The HYPOHAUS mortgage profile helps you as a customer to find out whether the mortgage model of a Libor mortgage is suitable for you. Depending on the profile that results from the nine structured questions, HYPOHAUS recommends the appropriate mortgage model.

Variable mortgage

The variable mortgage does not have a fixed term. It is only subject to a notice period, which is usually three or six months. The interest rate of the variable mortgage rises and falls with the general interest rate level. In a low interest rate environment, in which we currently find ourselves, the variable mortgage is the most expensive of all three mortgage models. For this reason, the variable mortgage has been used very rarely in recent years and only in special cases. For example, a variable mortgage can make sense if you as a customer want to sell your home soon or want to repay the mortgage for another reason. In most cases, the variable mortgage has no minimum amount and can therefore also be used for very small installments, for example in the course of a renovation.

How does the variable mortgage work?

The bank sets the interest rate at its discretion and is guided by the general interest rate level and the interest rates of other banks. Depending on the fluctuations in the interest rate market, the bank may adjust the interest rate 2-3 times a year.

Welches Hypothekarmodell passt zu mir?

Hypothekarprofil

Ermitteln Sie jetzt kostenlos und unverbindlich Ihren individuellen Hypothekartypen.

Die passende Hypothek

In der Schweiz werden hauptsächlich drei Hypothekarmodelle für eine Finanzierung angewendet. Dabei handelt es sich um die Festhypothek, die Libor Hypothek sowie die variable Hypothek. Welche Eigenschaften habe die verschiedenen Hypotheken? Finden Sie es hier heraus.

Festhypothek
Feste Laufzeiten
Fixierter Zinssatz
Kalkulierbares Risiko
Planungssicherheit
LIBOR/SARON Hypothek
Laufzeit i.d.R. 3-5 Jahre
Regelmässige Zinsanpassungen
Tieferer Zinssatz als bei Festhypotheken
Keine Planungssicherheit
Variable Hypothek
Keine feste Laufzeit
Variabler Zinssatz
Im Moment teuerste Hypothekenform

Festhypothek

Die Festhypothek ist die meistgenutzte Finanzierungsmöglichkeit für Immobilien in der Schweiz. Diese Art von Finanzierung hat zwei spezifische Eigenschaften:

  • Die Laufzeit der Hypothek wird bestimmt und kann zwischen 2 und 25 Jahren betragen
  • Der Zinssatz wird auf die ganze Laufzeit fixiert

Bei der Festhypothek kann dank festgelegter Laufzeit und fixem Zinssatz klar kalkuliert werden, wie hoch die jährliche Zinsbelastung ausfällt. Dadurch bietet die Festhypothek Planungssicherheit und eignet sich somit ideal für Hypothekarnehmer, welche keiner Veränderung der Zinsbelastung aufgrund kurzfristiger Zinsänderungen ausgesetzt sein wollen. Die Zinsstruktur von Festhypotheken ist sehr einfach erklärt: Je länger die Laufzeit desto höher beläuft sich der Zinssatz. Aufgrund dieser Tatsache ist beim Hypothekarmodell der Festhypothek essentiell, dass man verschiedene Finanzierungsofferten vergleicht. Bereits vermeintlich kleine Unterschiede im Zinssatz können auf die gesamte Hypothekarsumme sowie über die Laufzeit der Festhypothek ein grosses Sparpotential bedeuten.

LIBOR/SARON Hypothek

Die Libor-Hypothek ist ein Hypothekarmodell, welches vor allem in Zeiten eines gleich bleibenden oder sinkenden Zinsumfeldes sehr attraktiv ist. Der Zinssatz der Libor-Hypothek errechnet sich aus dem Liborzins und einer Marge. Die Marge wird je nach Finanzinstitut unterschiedlich berechnet und basiert auf der individuellen Bonität des Kunden. Vom Prinzip her handelt es sich bei der Libor-Hypothek um eine Festhypothek mit kurzer Laufzeit von wenigen Monaten, bei welcher in definiertem Rhythmus eine Zinsanpassung vorgenommen wird. Wenn Sie sich als Kunde für die Libor-Hypothek entscheiden haben Sie die Wahl, in welchen Abständen diese Zinsanpassung vorgenommen werden soll. Typischerweise steht dabei eine Libor-Basis von 3, 6 oder 12 Monaten zur Verfügung. Ein Libor-Hypothekenvertrag wird normalerweise für eine feste Laufzeit zwischen 2 und 6 Jahren abgeschlossen. Innerhalb dieser Laufzeit bieten die meisten Banken einen Wechsel in eine Festhypothek an.

In den letzten Jahren war die Libor-Hypothek durchschnittlich die günstigste Finanzierungsform. Neben diesem durchschlagenden Argument gibt es trotzdem mehrere Dinge, die es als Hypothekarnehmer zu beachten gilt:

  • Die Libor-Hypothek unterliegt kurzfristigen Zinsschwankungen
  • Es besteht keine Planungssicherheit
  • Normalerweise bietet die Libor-Hypothek tiefere Zinsen als eine Festhypothek

LIBOR wird zu SARON

Der Libor (London Interbank Offered Rate) ist der Satz, zu dem sich Banken untereinander Geld leihen. Hinter dem Libor stehen keine tatsächlichen Transaktionen, sondern lediglich Abmachungen, welche die Banken untereinander treffen. Diese Intransparenz machte den Libor in der Vergangenheit anfällig für Manipulationen. Der Saron (Swiss Average Rate Overnight) basiert auf getätigten Transaktionen und ist somit wesentlich widerstandsfähiger und transparenter. Ab dem 1. Januar 2022 bestimmt in der Schweiz nicht mehr der Libor, sondern der Saron den Zinssatz für Geldmarkt-Hypotheken. Somit wird die Libor-Hypothek spätestens ab Ende 2021 neu Saron-Hypothek heissen.

Der Saron ist bereits seit 2009 von der SNB im Gebrauch, wurde aber nicht als Basissatz für Geldmarkthypotheken verwendet. Trotzdem hat er sich in den vergangenen Jahren stets auf etwa demselben Niveau wie der Libor bewegt. Die meisten Experten erwarten, dass dies zumindest mittelfristig so bleiben wird. Für Libor-Kunden wird die Umstellung also kaum spürbare Veränderungen mit sich bringen.

Hypohaus ermittelt mit Ihnen zusammen ihr persönliches Hypothekarprofil. Das Hypohaus Hypothekarprofil hilft Ihnen als Kunde herauszufinden, ob das Hypothekarmodell einer Libor-Hypothek für Sie geeignet ist. Je nach Profil, welches anhand der neun strukturierten Fragen resultiert, empfiehlt Ihnen Hypohaus das dazu passende Hypothekarmodell.

Variable Hypothek

Die variable Hypothek hat keine feste Laufzeit. Sie unterliegt lediglich einer Kündigungsfrist, welche üblicherweise drei oder sechs Monate beträgt. Der Zinssatz der variablen Hypothek steigt und fällt mit dem allgemeinen Zinsniveau. Die variable Hypothek ist in einem Tiefzinsumfeld, in welchem wir uns derzeit befinden, das teuerste aller drei Hypothekarmodelle. Daher wurde die Variable Hypothek in den letzten Jahren nur noch sehr selten und lediglich in Spezialfällen angewendet. Beispielsweise kann eine variable Hypothek dann Sinn machen, wenn Sie als Kunde demnächst ihr Eigenheim verkaufen- respektive die Hypothek aus einem anderen Grund zurückzahlen möchten. Die variable Hypothek hat in den meisten Fällen keinen Mindestbetrag und kann somit auch für Kleinsttranchen, zum Beispiel im Zuge einer Renovation, genutzt werden.

Wie funktioniert die variable Hypothek?

Die Bank setzt den Zinssatz nach freiem Ermessen fest und orientiert sich am allgemeinen Zinsniveau sowie den Zinssätzen von anderen Banken. Je nach den Schwankungen am Zinsmarkt, kann es vorkommen, dass die Bank den Zinssatz 2-3 Mal pro Jahr anpasst.